First Regular Season Softball Rankings

First Regular Season Softball Rankings

(Cover photo: Holy Cross defeated Presentation 3-2 on March 30, 2016 for the All “A” Classic state championship. Credit: Conor Revell)

Ashli McLean

Louisville Male leads the area’s teams in the first regular season Kentucky Softball Coaches Association poll. In total, seven Louisville teams make this week’s top 25 list.

Male is listed at No. 3 with an 8-1 record. They were last season’s state runner up. Last year’s champion, McCracken County, heads the list. Male’s sole loss thus far has come from No. 2 Madisonville-North Hopkins, whom they fell 4-6 on March 19. The Bulldogs will compete in the Bob Jones Invitational in Huntsville, Ala. this weekend.

Ballard isn’t too far off from Male, sitting in at No. 6 with an undefeated 8-0 record. Two of those wins are against top 25-ranked teams: No. 14 Mercy (4-0 on March 23) and No. 22 Central Hardin (5-4 on March 17). Ballard, the only undefeated team in the Seventh Region, will also compete in the Bob Jones Invitational this weekend.

Bullitt East is the final Louisville-area school ranked in the top 10, listed at No. 8. It is the only team in the Sixth Region with an undefeated record (7-0). The Lady Chargers boast wins over No. 16 Union County, No. 17 South Warren, and No. 18 Assumption.

The final Louisville-area schools in this week’s rankings are: No. 13 Butler, Mercy, Assumption, and No. 24 Manual.

Here’s the complete list…

  1. McCracken County (24)
  2. Madisonville-North Hopkins (4)
  3. Male (1)
  4. Scott County
  5. Anderson County (1)
  6. Ballard
  7. Woodford County
  8. Bullitt East
  9. North Laurel
  10. East Jessamine
  11. Daviess County
  12. Owensboro Catholic
  13. Butler
  14. Mercy
  15. Ashland Blazer
  16. Union County
  17. South Warren
  18. Assumption
  19. Meade County
  20. Warren East
  21. Christian County
  22. Central Hardin
  23. East Carter
  24. Manual
  25. Lafayette

Others receiving votes: Marshall County, Allen County-Scottsville, South Laurel, Oldham County, Highlands, Apollo, Collins, Rockcastle County, Eastern, Sacred Heart, Presentation, Green County, Holy Cross, Muhlenberg County, Graves County, Fern Creek, Boyle County, Harrison County, Garrard County, Murray, Lyon County, Western Hills, Clark County, Johnson Central, Magoffin County, Ryle, Webster County.