FIT6: Hollie Hayden, DICK’s Sporting Goods

FIT6: Hollie Hayden, DICK’s Sporting Goods

Every week, the Louisville Women’s Sports Network highlights a local woman by asking her six questions about her health and fitness routine. This week’s guest is Hollie Hayden. If there is a woman you’d like us to feature, email suggestions to ashli@louisvillewomensports.com.

head shotTell Us a Little About Yourself

I am currently the community marketing manager for DICK’s Sporting Goods, working with youth leagues of every sport in Kentucky and Indiana.  I am a wife and a mom of two beautiful boys, Liam (3) and Jacob (1), who keep me very active.  I was a Division I soccer player for the University of Louisville and have played on a co-ed indoor soccer team with some of my old teammates for the past nine years.  I am attempting to try co-ed softball this summer.   

Six Questions About Your Fitness & Health

1) What is your weekly training/exercise routine?

I work out five days a week, going to an hour of boxing/kickboxing at 9Round Louisville gym every day.  It is all-circuit training, which I love, and it is a different workout every day so I don’t get bored doing it.  I use the weekends for rest days.  My husband was also a Division I collegiate athlete so we try to live an active lifestyle with our children, spending most of our weekends outside doing fun activities with them.  On Sundays, I play on my indoor team.

2) How do you prepare for a workout?

I usually do my workouts in the evening, so I make sure to drink water all day leading up to my workout.  I also take 10-15 minutes to stretch beforehand.  There are nights when I come home sore, so I soak in Epsom salt to help my muscles and to relax.

3) What do you eat, drink or do for quick energy? 

Naturally, I have a lot of energy, so I don’t have to turn to caffeine, but to make sure I have enough energy to complete a strenuous workout I will have a bar or a shake.

4) What is your daily nutritional meal plan when training? 

I make sure to drink at least 70-80 ounces of water a day.  I also eat six small meals a day.  I drink a chocolate Shakeology shake every morning.  My biggest meal is usually lunch. I try to get a salad with chicken or some sort of protein.  I could eat a turkey sandwich every day.  I try to incorporate a balanced diet of protein, carbs, fruits and veggies.  I have off days – so everything in moderation is key!

5) What do you snack on between meals when training? 

I usually snack on apples, almonds, carrots or cheerios.  My newest obsession is the new Jiffy whipped peanut butter. It taste good with everything!

6) What are your fitness & health goals? 

I just want to set a good example for my kids.  It was (IS) hard losing baby weight.  I want to show them what an active lifestyle looks like.  I just want to be able to feel comfortable in my clothes and feel good about myself.  I would love to one day complete a triathlon!