Becker Named ACC Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Becker Named ACC Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

University of Louisville Athletics

University of Louisville junior Maryssa Becker has been recognized as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year and is a member of the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner John Swofford. Louisville placed a league-high 10 players on the All-Academic team.

Becker helped lead the Cardinals to a second-place regular-season finish and an NCAA tournament berth with her performances on the mound and at the plate. The All-ACC First Team and the ACC Softball Championship All-Tournament Team selection finished the season with a 20-11 pitching record and 2.22 ERA while striking out 169 batters and walking just 33 in 204.2 innings. Becker ranked third among ACC batters with a .411 average and set a school single-season record for runs batted in with 60.

The chemistry major from Medford, Oregon, has earned spots on both the Dean’s List and Athletic Director’s Honor Roll. She has also been recognized among Louisville’s Red and Black Scholar-Athletes for achieving a GPA of 3.25 or higher.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Becker is one of 16 student-athletes named to the All-ACC Academic team who also earned All-ACC honors.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career as well as athletic achievements during the most recent season.

In addition to Becker, Louisville’s Lillie Goetz, Megan Hensley, Jenna Jordan, Jordan McNary, Sidney Melton, Morgan Meyer, Nicole Pufahl, Brittany Sims and Hailey Smith were also named to the All-ACC Academic Team.