Assumption Selected WISH Volleyball Team of Year

Assumption Selected WISH Volleyball Team of Year

(Cover photo: Assumption celebrating its 2015 state title. Credit: Conor Revell)

Ashli McLean

Join us at the Crowne Plaza on Sept. 20 for the 2nd annual Women In Sports Honors (WISH)! We’ll be celebrating our city’s most decorated female athletes and contributors to women’s athletics. The evening will feature a VIP reception, table-seating dinner, cash bar, and awards ceremony.

Produced by the Louisville Women’s Sports Network, WISH is presented by KentuckyOne Health Sports Medicine and Kroger. It is supported in part by Bill Collins Ford, WAVE 3 News, UPS, and Alpha Media.

For now, here’s a look at the 14th of 15 teams that will receive our “Outstanding Team of the Year” award for their respective sport. We’ll cover one team per day, so stay tuned…

Volleyball Team of the Year:  Assumption High

It’s no secret that the city of Louisville has grown into a mecca for girls’ high school volleyball. So without much surprise, the reigning state champion will be honored with the Volleyball Team of the Year award at the Women In Sports Honors: Assumption High.

The Rockets won the state title (34-7 overall record) and finished the season with a No. 3 national ranking according to MaxPreps Computer Rankings/No. 8 from The Rockets and head coach Ron Kordes always play one of the toughest schedules in the country and that competition held a major role in them winning a record 19th state championship.

Assumption played 20 games against teams ranked in the top 36 in the nation, going an impressive 13-7. And for the second year in a row, the Rockets won the prestigious Durango Fall Classic in Las Vegas, finished second in the LIVT and fourth in the Asics Challenge in Chicago.

The Rockets were led by a defense filled with D-I commits, such as senior libero Allie Gregory (Florida), senior DS Leigh Ann Cunningham (Rice) and junior DS Alexis Hamilton (Louisville).

Join us as we celebrate Assumption volleyball and a host of other team and individual winners at WISH on Sept. 20! For ticket information, click here.